Welcome Home

How To Blog with WordPress June 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hbingham @ 10:43 pm

I’ve received a few emails about blogging with WordPress.  Switching from Blogger to WordPress has been difficult and I am not very computer savvy. I’m constantly Googleing “how to do this or that on WordPress”. 

Check out this blog for pros and cons of eachhttp://pulsed.blogspot.com/2007/07/blogger-wordpress-chart.html.  I think that chart covers everything.  The reason I like WordPress for the genealogy site is that it allows for static pages, I can easily track my stats and manage comments quickly.  But the best part of WordPress is the editing and publishing features. Although I have discovered that with Microsoft Office 2007 there is a blog template. You can type your document with Microsoft and publish right from there.  It will publish it with the fonts and colors you want and can be published to both WordPress and Blogger.

I’ll be adding a series of posts with instructions about setting up a WordPress blog.  Again, I am not an expert.  I have a very basic understanding of WordPress and the Internet in general.  If you are looking for technical instructions or jargon you are in the wrong place!

Good luck with your blogging adventure and be sure to let me know of any great discoveries in the WordPress world!

 

Leave a Reply

