Welcome Home

Warren M. Johnson Newspaper Article August 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hbingham @ 9:07 pm
Tags:

For the past week I’ve been typing Elizabeth Johnson Carling Colvin’s life history.  If you don’t have a copy of this history, keep a look out for it in the weeks to come.  Elizabeth does a wonderful job of describing life at the ferry, her father and family life.  Talk about a good read! 

It’s quite a lengthy autobiography and it’s taking me a lot longer to type than I anticipated.  Hopefully I’ll get it done before I get too big to sit at the computer and type.  Only seven weeks left till our little girl arrives – and then who knows how long it will be before I get back to typing again!

The reason for this post today is a newspaper article I came across tonight.  Elizabeth writes about several different events I thought might have made the papers, so I searched the Google News Archives.  I didn’t come up with what I was expecting but did come across an article, I believe, was written by Warren M. Johnson.

The article is in response to a previous newspaper article, which I haven’t searched for.  Apparently someone made an editorial complaint about the travel conditions in Southern Utah.  “The Ferryman” from Lee’s Ferry wrote an editorial in response.  If W.M. Johnson did write the article he didn’t sign his name to it, but the dates are right. 

Take a look and let me know what you think!

This article, entitled “Good Words”, was written by a traveler who stopped at Lee’s Ferry.  The reported had great things to say about the Johnson family.

 

3 Responses to “Warren M. Johnson Newspaper Article”

  1. Kent Brooksby Says:

    Thanks for doing this. I have an old copy of a copy of a copy, and a few pages are missing. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what I’ve missed.

  2. hbingham Says:

    Aunt Cheri thanks for taking the detour with us! It was fun to visit Burlington and figure a few things out. Very glad the caretaker showed up to help out!

  3. Cheri Frary Says:

    Hey Heidi!

    This was very interesting. Sounds as if our ancestor was a pretty good guy. He certainly sounds as if he’s not into being a “limelight” kind of person. Thanks for sharing your great “Spirit of Elijah” with the whole family. It was fun to do some cemetery-walking with you.


Leave a Reply

